About Steven Womack...

Steven Womack began his first novel when he was eighteen years old. A short eighteen years later, he finally published one. His first published novel, Murphy's Fault, was the only first mystery named to the 1990 New York Times Notable Books List.

Womack's eleventh published novel, Resurrection Bay, is his first collaboration, written with screenwriter Wayne McDaniel, and will be published in June, 2014 by Midnight Ink books.

Resurrection Bay is loosely based on and inspired by the real-life case of Robert Hansen, Alaska's most famous serial killer. In the 1970s through the early 80s, Hansen killed as many as twenty-one women around Anchorage, Alaska.

"Wayne had written a screenplay based on the case," Womack said in a recent interview. "He wanted to write a novelization of the screenplay and a mutual acquaintance introduced us. I was incredibly excited to have the opportunity to work on such a dynamite project. Our partnership turned out to be one of the best professional experiences I've ever had."

Six of the eleven novels published by Womack have received national recognition, including the highest award presented to writers in the field of mystery and crime fiction. Womack's third book, Dead Folks' Blues, was presented the 1994 Edgar Allan Poe Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Mystery Writers of America. The novel featured bumbling ex-newspaperman turned private detective Harry James Denton and was called by the Virginia Pilot And Ledger Star a "virtuoso performance."

Murder Manual, the fifth installment in the series, was published by Ballantine Books in 1998 and was accorded nominations in the "Triple Crown" of mystery. The novel was nominated for the 1999 Edgar Allan Poe Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Mystery Writers of America. Murder Manual was awarded the 1999 Shamus Award as Best Paperback Original by the Private Eye Writers of America. The book was also nominated for The Anthony Award, given by members of Bouchercon, The World Mystery Convention. The novel was called a "knock-out performance" by MLB News.

Dirty Money, the sixth installment in the award-winning Harry James Denton series, was published in February, 2000 by Fawcett Books and was called "irresistible" by the New York Times. The book was also nominated for the Shamus Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Private Eye Writers of America.

The second Harry James Denton mystery, Torch Town Boogie, published in November, 1993, was also nominated for the Shamus Award, as was the third installment in the Denton series, Way Past Dead, published in March, 1995. The New York Times called Way Past Dead "a real hoot," and added that "Harry has something that cuts him apart from the rest of the herd."

The fourth installment in the series, Chain Of Fools, was published in May, 1996 and was nominated for both the Shamus and Anthony Awards. The Harry James Denton novels have been published in Japan, Germany, France, and the United Kingdom.

A native of Nashville, Tennessee, Womack is a graduate of Western Reserve Academy and Tulane University, where an unpublished novel of his was the first novel ever accepted as an undergraduate honors thesis. He also holds an M.F.A. from the Southampton College writing program.

In addition to writing, Womack is a professor of screenwriting at the Watkins Film School in Nashville, where he previously served a five-year term as Chair. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Screenwriting Association, has been a Regional Vice-President of the Mystery Writers of America and for several years led a fiction writing workshop at the Tennessee State Prison. He currently serves on the Board of Governors of the Mid-South regional chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Womack is also the author of the Jack Lynch books, a trilogy featuring public relations executive/spinmeister Jack Lynch. The first in that series of novels, Murphy's Fault was called by The New York Times "tough and articulate" in naming the book to its 1990 annual List of Notable Books as one of the top novels of the year, and as mentioned earlier, the only first crime novel on that year's list.

Publishers Weekly called Murphy's Fault, "a welcome addition to the genre." First published in hardcover by St. Martin's Press, the novel was also published in paperback in June, 1991. Smash Cut:, the sequel to Murphy's Fault, was published in October, 1991 by St. Martin's Press. The third Jack Lynch novel, The Software Bomb, was published in July, 1993.

Womack co-wrote the screenplay for Proudheart, an original made-for-cable movie which premiered in August, 1993 on The Nashville Network. Proudheart was nominated for a CableAce Award. He also co-wrote the ABC-TV film Volcano: Fire On The Mountain, which first aired in February, 1997 and was one of the highest-rated TV movies of the year.

Womack is a former president of Novelists, Inc., an organization of multi-published professional novelists. He is still a member of Novelists, Inc. as well as The Writers Guild of America, East. A frequent speaker, Womack regularly appears on writers' panels and at book fairs, including the Southern Book Festival, the North Carolina Literary Festival, the Kentucky Book Fair, the Southeast Writers Association and Bouchercon, The World Mystery Convention. He has also been a guest instructor at the Green River Writers' Workshop, the Sinking Creek Film Festival, the Young Fugitives Writers Workshop, the Writers Roundtable, and the Tennessee Mountain Writers Conference. In 2004, he was awarded the Carrell Family Visiting Writer Fellowship as writer-in-residence at the Harpeth Hall School in Nashville, Tennessee. He is listed in International Authors and Writers Who's Who and Contemporary Authors.


June, 2014

Resurrection Bay, co-written with Wayne McDaniel

Midnight Ink


Goldfarb's Red Scarf, short story published in Novelists Inc. anthology Cast of Characters

Fiction Studio Books


By Blood Written

Severn House


The Casebook of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, rediscovered by Stephen Hines, with an Introduction by Steven Womack

Berkley Books


www.deadbitch.com (short story published in A Confederacy of Crime)

Signet/New American Library


Dirty Money

Fawcett Books


A Taste of Murder (contributor)

Dell Publishing


Like Alpo For Chocolate (short story published in Canine Crimes)

Ballantine Books


Murder Manual

Ballantine Books


Homeworks: A Book of Tennessee Writers (contributor)

University of Tennessee Press


Chain of Fools

Ballantine Books


Way Past Dead

Ballantine Books


Torch Town Boogie

Ballantine Books


The Software Bomb

St. Martin's Press


The Language of Argument (contributor; reprint of 7/16/91 essay in USA Today: An Immodest Proposal- a lottery to pay off the national debt

Harper Collins


Dead Folks' Blues

Ballantine Books


Smash Cut:

St. Martin's Press


Murphy's Fault

St. Martin's Press

Produced Films Aired Nationally:
February, 1996

Volcano: Fire On The Mountain (co-writer)


August, 1993

Proudheart (co-writer)

The Nashville Network

All material copyright Steven Womack © 2014. All rights reserved. web design: squarecook.com