Harry James Denton Just Keeps On Coming!

Nobody’s Chain Lays Straight, A Manual Of Murder, Dirty Money Now Available On All Major EBook Outlets

The second three installments in the award-winning Harry James Denton series are now across all major Ebook outlets, including Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo.

The fourth book in the series, originally titled Chain Of Fools, has been republished with its original title Nobody’s Chain Lays Straight. In this installment, Harry explores Nashville’s dark underbelly of “gentlemen’s clubs” as he searches for the kidnapped, troubled daughter of one of Nashville’s oldest and richest families. Nobody’s Chain Lays Straight was nominated for both the Shamus Award and the Anthony Award.

The fifth book, originally titled Murder Manual, has also undergone a title change. Now called A Manual Of Murder, the book finds Harry hired to investigate a philandering, New York Times best-selling author. When the author is murdered, Harry becomes the prime suspect and has to untangle a convoluted web of money, power, jealousy and lust in order to prove himself innocent. A Manual Of Murder was nominated for the Edgar Award, the Anthony Award and won the Shamus Award.

In the Shamus Award-nominated Dirty Money, the sixth Harry James Denton novel, Harry travels to Reno, Nevada, where his longtime significant other, Dr. Marsha Helms, is about to give birth to their daughter. Harry’s journey, though, is not an easy one. He’s beaten, robbed, his car’s torched, and he winds in a Nevada hospital where he’s rescued by a kind-hearted nurse and an old west, old school Nevada lawman. Eventually he makes it to Reno, where he winds up–of all things–as the maintenance man at the Mustang Ranch, the world’s most famous legal brothel.

Work on the trade paperback Spearhead Press editions is underway, while Steven Womack writes the seventh and first new installment in the Harry James Denton series in over fifteen years…

Dead Folks’ Blues, Torch Town Boogie, Way Past Dead Now Available!

The award-winning Harry James Denton series has been republished under the Spearhead Press imprint and is now available across all major Ebook distribution channels. Dead Folks’ Blues, which won the 1994 Edgar Allan Poe Award from the Mystery Writers of America, was the debut of the Denton series, which is set in Nashville, Tennessee.

The series features ex-newspaper reporter turned private investigator Harry James Denton.

Torch Town Boogie and Way Past Dead will also be republished simultaneously. Spearhead Press will bring out the second group of three Denton novels in late Spring 2017.

The first three Denton novels will be published in EBook format and available from all major EBook outlets. Print-on-demand editions will follow.

“I’m thrilled that these novels–each of which either won or was nominated for a major mystery award–will be once again widely available,” series author Steven Womack said in making the announcement. “I hope Harry finds a whole new audience.”

“And when those six novels are back, I’d like to write the new adventures of Harry James Denton. He’ll be a decade or so older and maybe a little wiser. One thing’s for sure–Nashville and Harry’s world have changed a lot since we last saw him.”

The books are available for preorder on all major Ebook outlets, including Amazon.com, Kobo, Apple ibooks, and others.

In the meantime…

Welcome to StevenWomack.com!

Thanks for visiting. I’m glad you’re here.  Please look around and explore what’s on this site.

If you go to the web pages for each of my books, you won’t find a catalog description or a cut-and-paste from the Amazon.com page. I’ve tried to do something different here, which is tell the story behind the story…

A Different Kind of Book Page…

Signing RESURRECTION BAY at Parnassus Books
Signing RESURRECTION BAY at Parnassus Books

What you’ll find instead are my own notes and backstory on where each book came from. Every novel is a story, but every novel has its own story as well. And that’s what I’d like to do here: give you some idea of where each book came from and how it came to be…

Of course, there will still be the occasional obligatory fun self-promotion fluff piece, like pictures of me signing and speaking at Parnassus Books…

A Place To Share Resources…

I’d also like for this to be a meeting place for readers and writers alike. The publishing business right now is changing in ways that can only be described as revolutionary. I’ve been a published novelist now for over 25 years, and I’ve never seen anything like it. I read ezines, blogs, and articles every day about this business. Sometimes it seems like keeping on top of the changes in this industry is a full-time job…

A New Kind of Publishing World…

Signing RESURRECTION BAY at the Cool Springs Barnes & Noble.
Signing RESURRECTION BAY at the Cool Springs Barnes & Noble.

In many ways, it’s a golden era for writers. Thanks to the digital publishing revolution, it’s never been easier for writers to get their work in front of readers. When I first started out, writers were literally at the mercy of agents and editors, who served as gatekeepers (perhaps bouncers would be a better description). They could take years to decide if you were going to be let into the club, and their decision was final.

Those days are over.

Writers can now totally bypass the gatekeepers. What this means is that more writers than ever are publishing, and more books are being published than ever before.

spearheadlogo1The downside, of course, is that it’s harder than ever to get any attention in such a crowded field, and it’s harder than ever to make a living at it…

So I want this website to be a resource for writers and readers. We’re all after the same thing: the incredible experience of being a part of a good story and sharing that bond.

This website is, as we all are, a work-in-progress.  So I ask your patience as this journey progresses.

As this website grows and evolves, I’ll also invite you to take a look at my Facebook page. I find a lot of really interesting stuff that I like to share:search


Edgar and Shamus Award-Winning Author